2013 UCI World Championship Results

UCI Road World Championships 2013

This year’s UCI Road Cycling World Championships is now sadly over, but what a year it was! Join Merlin Cycles as we recap all the highlights!

This year’s UCI Road Cycling World Championships is now sadly over, but what a year it was! Starting in Florence, Italy, on Sunday 22nd September, the competition spanned several different cycling events over the last week.

The top riders from around the world have been relentlessly competing for the chance to wear the hallowed rainbow jersey for the full season next year, and a rainbow sleeve/armband forever.

Top stories this year include Marianne Vos successfully defending her woman’s world race title for the third year (second consecutive year, third win overall – 2006,2012,2013), and the young Dutchman, Mathieu van der Poel, following in the steps of his father after securing a world championship win in the junior men’s race. Both of which were great news for the Netherlands.

Britain only took home two medals this year, with the Sky Pro Cycling team winning bronze in the men’s elite team time trial and Sir Bradley Wiggins securing a second place win in the men’s elite individual time trial on Wednesday, behind defending champion Tony Martin. Martin’s winning margin was 46.09 seconds.

Perhaps the most shocking news was that British hopeful and winner of the 2013 Tour de France, Chris Froome, was forced to withdraw from the elite men’s road race in Florence. Froome’s other British teammates, including Sir Bradley Wiggins and Mark Cavendish, also retired from the race, stating the terrible conditions as the cause.

Froome, who withdrew with just over 80 kilometres remaining, had this to say about the loss:

“It’s a big disappointment, especially having made it such a big objective, but with these conditions it just wasn’t meant to be… After three laps the split started happening and I looked around and realised I didn’t have any team-mates left and it wasn’t going to happen.”

Rui Costa takes the win

Despite the conditions and the large number of crashes during the 272.5 kilometre race, Portugal’s Rui Costa was able to come out on top and take the men’s road race world title.

Below are the details of each event, including the date, event name and top three finalists, with their final race times included.

Sunday 22nd September

Women’s Team Time Trial

  1. Specialized-lululemon (USA) – 51:10.69
  2. Rabo Women Cycling Team (NED) – at 1min 11.09 seconds
  3. Orica – Ais (AUS) – at 1 min 33.83 seconds

Men’s Team Time Trial

  1. Omega Pharma – Quick-Step Cycling (BEL) – 1:04:16.74
  2. Orica Greenedge (AUS) – at 0.88 seconds
  3. Sky Pro Cycling (GBR) –  at 22.62 seconds

Monday 23rd September

Women’s Junior Individual Time Trial

  1. Severine Eraud (FRA)  – 22:42.60
  2. Alexandria Nicholls (AUS) – at 2.69seconds
  3. Alexandra Manly (AUS) – at 8.17 seconds

Men’s Under-23 Individual Time Trial

  1. Damien Howson (AUS) – 49:49.97
  2. Yoann Paillot (FRA) – at 57.11 seconds
  3. Lasse Norman Hansen (DEN) – at 1 minute 10.13 seconds

Tuesday 24th September

Men’s Junior Individual Time Trial

  1. Igor Decraene (BEL) – 26:56.80
  2. Mathias Krigbaum (DEN) – at 8.66 seconds
  3. Zeke Mostov (USA) – at 20.97 seconds

Women’s Elite Individual Time Trial

  1. Ellen van Dijk (NED) – 27:48.18
  2. Linda Villumsen (NZL) – at 24.10 seconds
  3. Carmen Small (USA) – at 28.74 seconds

Wednesday 25th September

Men’s Elite Individual Time Trial

  1. Tony Martin (GER) – 1:05:36.65
  2. Bradley Wiggins (GBR) – at 46.09 seconds
  3. Fabian Cancellara (SUI) – at 48.34 seconds

Friday 27th September

Women’s Junior Road Race

  1. Amalie Dideriksen (DEN) – 2:32.23
  2. Anastaslia Iakovenko (RUS) – at same time
  3. Olena Demydova (UKR) – at 3 seconds

Men’s Under-23 Road Race

  1. Matej Mohoric (SLO) – 4:20.18
  2. Louis Meintjes (RSA) – at 3 seconds
  3. Sondre Holst Enger (NOR) – at 13 seconds

Saturday 28th September

Men’s Junior Road Race

  1. Mathieu van der Poel (NED) – 3:33.14
  2. Mads Pedersen (DEN) – at 3 seconds
  3. Iitjan Nika (ALB) – at 3 seconds

Women’s Elite Road Race

  1. Marianne Vos (NED) – 3:44.00
  2. Emma Johansson (SWE) – at 15 seconds
  3. Rossella Ratto (ITA) – at 15 seconds

Sunday 29th September

Men’s Elite Road Race

  1. Rui Alberto Faria da Costa (POR) – 7:25.44
  2. Joaquin Rodriguez Oliver (ESP) – at same time
  3. Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (ESP) – at 17 seconds

Are you disappointed Britain didn’t take home a gold medal? What was your highlight of the event? Let us know what you think of this year’s championships in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *