Tour of Britain 2013 Preview

Tour of BritainRight, never mind the Tour of Spain currently taking place, the Tour de France during the summer or the upcoming World Championships in a few weeks time; The Tour of Britain is starting on Sunday 15th September and it’s going to be a cracker! With eight stages starting in Scotland and ending in London via Wales and Devon, if it comes near you go out and see it.

This year sees the race’s first ever summit finish on Friday 20th in Dartmoor and plenty of other high passes throughout the race including the stage into Llanberis on Wednesday 18th which will provide truly spectacular scenery for us watching.  The 10mile individual TT round Knowsley Safari Park on Tuesday 17th will be watched intently by lots of club time trialists as they see what time the pros do and how they measure up over a similar distance in their local events. With a return to its traditional finish in the heart of London, the riders will cover 10 laps of the capital giving plenty of opportunities to see the race. There’s also a women’s criterium in the morning of the last stage and other events going on throughout the day before the stage so plenty to see and promises to be a good day out.

With possibly the best ever field assembled, some of the biggest names in the sport will be out to make their mark in the run up to the World Championships at the end of September. Stars taking part include Britain’s very own Sir Bradley Wiggins (SKY) and Mark Cavendish (Omega Pharma-Quickstep) as well as Tour de France runner up and Columbian climbing sensation Nairo Quintana (Movistar) and Classic winner Ireland’s Dan Martin (Garmin-Sharp).

As for British interest in the race apart from Wiggo and Cav, World Tour riders Alex Dowsett (Movistar) and Sky team mates Josh Edmondson and Ian Stannard will be looking to make their mark on home roads. Every major British domestic professional team is riding and all bringing their strongest squads so expect them to be very active in breaks and with talents like Yanto Barker (UK Youth) and Ian Bibby (Madison Genesis) there’s a good chance of a stage win and high overall placings. Irish interests are also well served apart from Martin with several riders including Sky’s latest signing for 2014 Philip Deignan (United Healthcare)looking to hone his form ahead of the World Champs.

So if you can you should try and catch the race live by the roadside but fear not if you can’t as it will shown live on TV by both ITV4 and British Eurosport. Might be a few sickies thrown next week by certain members of the cycling fraternity….

Tour of Britain - Route Map

Tour of Britain 2013 teams

CannondaleCannondale (Italy | UCI WorldTour)

Director: Alberto Volpi 

Alan Marangoni (Ita)
Federico Canuti (Ita)
Nicolo Martinello (Ita)
Matthias Krizek (Aut)
Juraj Sagan (Svk)
Elia Vivani (Ita)


Garmin SharpGarmin-Sharp (USA | UCI WorldTour)

Director: Geert Van Bondt

Dan Martin (Irl)
Jack Bauer (NZl)
Nathan Haas (Aus)
Robbie Hunter (RSA)
Jacob Rathe (USA)
Steele Vonhoff (Aus)


MovistarMovistar (Spain | UCI WorldTour)

Director: Alfonso Galilea

Nairo Quintana (Col)
Angel Madrazo (Spa)
Alex Dowsett (GBr)
Jose Joaquin Rojas (Spa)
Enrique Sanz Unzue (Spa)
Giovanni Visconti (Ita)


Omega Pharma Quick Step

Omega Pharma-Quick Step (Belgium | UCI WorldTour)

Director: Brian Holm

Mark Cavendish (GBr)
Michal Golas (Pol)
Iljo Keisse (Bel)
Alessandro Petacchi (Ita)
Martin Velits (Svk)
Julien Vermote (Bel)


Team Sky

SKY (Great Britain | UCI WorldTour)

Director: Servais Knaven

Sir Bradley Wiggins (GBr)
Joshua Edmondson (GBr)
Bernhard Eisel (Aut)
Mathew Hayman (Aus)
David Lopez (Spa)
Ian Stannard (GBr)


Bardiani Valvolve - CSF Inox

Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox (Italy | UCI Professional Continental)

Director: Roberto Reverberi

Sacha Modolo (Ita)
Enrico Battaglin (Ita)
Stefano Pirazzi (Ita)
Edoardo Zardini (Ita)
Francesco Manuel Bongiorno (Ita)
Enrico Barbin (Ita)


I AM Cycling

IAM Cycling (Switzerland | UCI Professional Continental) 

Director: Kjell Carlstrom

Martin Elmiger (Sui)
Heinrich Haussler (Aus)
Reto Hollenstein (Sui)
Thomas Lofkvist (Swe)
Johann Tschopp (Sui)
Marcel Wyss (Sui)


MTN Qhubeka

MTN-Qhubeka (South Africa | UCI Professional Continental) 

Director: Jens Zemke

Gerald Ciolek (Ger)
Andreas Stauff (Ger)
Ferekalsi Debesay (Eri)
Meron Russom (Eri)
Sergio Pardilla (Spa)
Songezo Jim (RSA)



Sojasun (France | UCI Professional Continental)

Director: Gilles Pauchard

Jimmy Engoulvent (Fra)
Jeremie Galland (Fra)
Christophe Laborie (Fra)
David Le Lay (Fra)
Rony Martias (Fra)
Jean Lou Paiani (Fra)


Team Net App Endura

NetApp-Endura (Germany | UCI Professional Continental)

Director: Christian Pomer

Jonathan McEvoy (GBr)
Erick Rowsell (GBr)
Scott Thwaites (GBr)
Michael Schwarzmann (Ger)
Ralf Matzka (Ger)
Andreas Schillinger (Ger)


United Healthcare

UnitedHealthcare (USA | UCI Professional Continental)  

Director: Hendrik Redant

Philip Deignan (Irl)
Marc de Maar (Aho)
Chris Jones (USA)
Lucas Euser (USA)
Kiel Reijnen (USA)
Alessandro Bazzana (Ita)


ANPost Chain Reaction

AN Post Chain Reaction (Ireland | Continental)

Director: Kurt Bogaerts

Sam Bennett (Irl)
Aaron Gate (NZl)
Shane Archbold (NZl)
Nicolas Verecken (Bel)
Alphonse Vermote (Bel)
Mark McNally (GBr)


IG Sigma Sport

IG-Sigma Sport (Great Britain | Continental)

Director: Simon Howes

Peter Williams (GBr)
Peter Hawkins (Irl)
Wouter Sybrandy (Ned)
Ben Greenwood (GBr)
James Moss (GBr)
Matt Cronshaw (GBr)


Madison Genesis

Madison Genesis (Great Britain | Continental)

Director: Roger Hammond

Andy Tennant (GBr)
Dominic Jelfs (Irl)
Ian Bibby (GBr)
Liam Holohan (GBr)
Alex Peters (GBr)
Dean Downing (GBr)


Node 4 Girodana

Node4-Giordana (Great Britain | Continental)

Director: Malcolm Elliott

Mike Northey (NZl)
Roman Van Uden (NZl)
Shem Rodger (NZl)
Dan Barry (NZl)
Steve Lampier (GBr)
James Williamson (NZl)


Rapha Condor JLT

Rapha Condor JLT (Great Britain | Continental)    

Director: John Herety

Kristian House (GBr)
Richard Handley (GBr)
Mike Cuming (GBr)
Luke Grivell-Mellor (GBr)
Felix English (Irl)
Hugh Carthy (GBr)


Team Raleigh

Raleigh (Great Britain | Continental)

Director: Cherie Pridham

Lachlan Norris (Aus)
Tom Scully (NZl)
Mark Christian (GBr)
Evan Oliphant (GBr)
Eric Berthou (Fra)
Tom Moses (GBr)


Team UK Youth

UK Youth (Great Britain | Continental)

Director: David Povall

Yanto Barker (GBr)
Marcin Bialoblocki (Pol)
Niklas Gustavsson (Swe)
Jon Mould (GBr)
Chris Opie (GBr)
Rob Partridge (GBr)


Team Great Britain

Great Britain (Great Britain | National team)  

Director: Keith Lambert

Simon Yates (GBr)
Adam Yates (GBr)
Alistair Slater (GBr)
Owain Doull (GBr)
George Atkins (GBr)
Samuel Lowe (GBr)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *