Tour of Britain 2014 Full Rider List and Who to Watch

The 2014 Tour of Britain kicks off on Sunday 7th September in Liverpool with a world class line up of riders. Some of the biggest names in the sport will be lining up alongside the cream of the UK based professionals for what looks to be one of the best editions of the race ever.


Wiggo back on home soil

The stand out favourite for the overall victory is last year’s winner and British treasure Sir Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky). Wiggo is out to defend his title and build up towards the world time trial championships and has brought a strong Sky squad to support him.


Wiggins on the podium last year

He’s had some strong showings this year with 9th in Paris-Roubaix but more importantly for this race, a victory in the weeklong Tour of California in May. Following his omission from this year’s Tour de France which started in Yorkshire, the Tour of Britain provides Wiggo with a chance to show his class and for the British public to see their hero on home roads.

Other GC contenders

Apart from the first and last stages which are nailed on bunch sprint finishes, the route is hilly and with only a short time trial on the last day, anyone in the lead will have to be very attentive the entire race.

Lars Boom (Belkin) – previous winner has had a good summer with a stage win at the Tour de France and second at the Eneco Tour, route suits him as well

Michal Kwiatkowski (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) – after a very good Spring Classics season and strong showing in some short stage races, the young rider should have a good race

Sylvain Chavanel (IAM Cycling) – known for his attacking and never say die attitude, expect to see him light up the race whenever he can and take any advantage and exploit to the full for the win.

Leopold Koenig (Team NettApp-Endura) – Achived top 10 finish at this year’s Tour de France in his first attempt, hilly course will suit him but maybe not the short overall duration.

Steve Cummings (BMC) – English rider is leaving BMC at the end of the season and will be out to prove himself. Has won short stage races before and will be fired up to do well in a rare appearance on home roads.

The sprinters

This battle between the sprinters is the one we’re most looking forward to. There may be only two pretty much guaranteed bunch finishes (first and last stages) but what a showdown it will be. Current sprint King Marcel Kittel (Giant-Shimano) has proved himself to be the fastest man on two wheels this year and will be keen to keep that record intact.

Kittel Mall

Kittel winning on The Mall in this year’s Tour de France

British favourite Mark Cavendish (Omega Pharma-Quickstep) has recovered from his Tour de France crash and has already won several stages in the Tour du Poitou Charentes. He’ll be keener than ever to win the sprints and prove he is still the sprint king and if he can get the better of Kittel it will set him up well for future races.


Cav has recovered from his Tour de France crash and has already won in France

Recent London-Surrey Classic winner Adam Blythe (NFTO) is on a winning streak and will be very interesting to see how he fares against the two biggest names. Irish rider Sam Bennett (Team NetApp-Endura) has had an impressive first year in the paid ranks and shown himself to be a canny sprinter so will be good to see how he fares in such illustrious company.

Ones to watch

The short 9km individual time trial around the streets of London on Sunday 14th September offers a great battle between Wiggins and former multiple British TT champion Alex Dowsett (Movistar).

Tinkoff–Saxo bring a strong team with Irish rider Nicholas Roche, son of former Tour de France winner Stephen, team leader on a course which suits his aggressive attacking style.

Ben Swift (Team Sky) has also had a good season and has been knocking on the door for stage wins often just falling short at the line, will definitely be in the mix in the sprints if he’s not too knackered from helping Wiggins for the overall.

The home teams as well as the young GB Team will be keen to get some exposure for themselves and their sponsors so expect at least one of them to be in the breaks everyday and up there in the combativity and climbers awards.

The jerseys

The Friends Life Yellow Jersey – overall classification leader.

Chain Reaction Cycles Points Jersey – points classification leader.

SKODA King of the Mountains Jersey – mountains classification leader

The full Tour of Britain 2014 Team and rider list

Team Sky
1 Sir Bradley Wiggins GBR
2 Sebastien Henao COL
3 Ian Stannard GBR
4 Ben Swift GBR
5 Bernhard Eisel AUT
6 David Lopez ESP

IAM Cycling
11 Sylvain Chavanel FRA
12 Heinrich Haussler AUS
13 Kevyn Ista BEL
14 Matthias Brandle AUT
15 Sebastien Reichenbach SUI
16 Jerome Pinaeu FRA

Rapha Condor JLT
21 Kristian House GBR
22 Chris Opie GBR
23 Tom Moses GBR
24 Richard Handley GBR
25 Mike Cuming GBR
26 Hugh Carthy GBR

Great Britain
31 Tao Geoghegan Hart GBR
32 Jonathan Dibben GBR
33 Oliver Wood GBR
34 Christopher Lathan GBR
35 Christopher Lawless GBR
36 Germain Burton GBR

Garmin Sharp
41 Jack Bauer NZL
42 Thomas Dekker NED
43 Tyler Farrar USA
44 Lasse Hansen DEN
45 Dylan Van Baarle USA
46 Dylan Girdlestone RSA

MTN Qhubeka
51 Songezo Jim RSA
52 Linus Gerdemann GER
53 Dennis van Niekerk RSA
54 Ignatas Konovalovas LTU
55 Youcef Reguigui ALG
56 Karel Hnik CZE

Giordana Racing Team
61 Marcin Bialoblocki POL
62 James Moss GBR
63 Nathan Edmondson GBR
64 Bradley Morgan GBR
65 Steve Lampier GBR
66 Rob Partridge GBR

Omega Pharma-QuickStep
71 Mark Cavendish GBR
73 Mark Renshaw AUS
73 Michal Golas POL
74 Michal Kwiatkowski POL
75 Niki Terpstra NED
76 Julien Vermote BEL

Team Novo Nordisk
81 Martijn Verschoor NED
82 Andrea Peron ITA
83 Javier Megias ESP
84 David Lozano ESP
85 Charles Planet FRA
86 Kevin De Mesmaekers BEL

Madison Genesis
91 Tom Stewart GBR
92 Mike Northey NZL
93 Liam Holohan GBR
94 Tom Scully NZL
95 Tobyn Horton GBR
96 Alex Peters GBR

Movistar Team
101 Igor Anton ESP
102 Alex Dowsett GBR
103 Pablo Lastras ESP
104 Juan Jose Lobato ESP
105 Ion Izagirre ESP
106 Enrique Sanz ESP

Bardiani CSF
111 Enrico Battaglin ITA
112 Nicola Ruffoni ITA
113 Sonny Colbrelli ITA
114 Edoardo Zardini ITA
115 Franscesco Manuel Bongiorno ITA
116 Andrea Piechele ITA

Team Raleigh
121 Matthieu Boulo FRA
122 Yanto Barker GBR
123 Ian Wilkinson GBR
124 Morgan Kniesky FRA
125 Mark Christian GBR
126 George Atkins GBR

Belkin Pro Cycling
131 Lars Boom NED
132 Theo Bos NED
133 Jos van Emden NED
134 Rick Flens NED
135 Bram Tankink NED
136 Maarten Wynants BEL

Team NetApp Endura
141 Leopold Koenig CZE
142 Jan Barta CZE
143 Sam Bennett IRL
144 Zak Dempster AUS
145 Scott Thwaites GBR
146 Paul Voss GER

NFTO Pro Cycling
141 Adam Blythe GBR
142 Jon Mould GBR
143 Josh Hunt GBR
144 Sam Harrison GBR
145 James Lowsley-Williams GBR
146 Dale Appleby GBR

BMC Racing Team
161 Steve Cummings GBR
162 Martin Kohler SUI
163 Sebastian Lander DEN
164 Daniel Oss ITA
165 Dylan Teuns BEL
166 Peter Velits SVK

An Post Chain Reaction
171 Shane Archbold NZL
172 Aaron Gate NZL
173 Robert Jon McCarthy AUS
174 Sean Downey IRL
175 Glenn O’Shea AUS
176 Owain Doull GBR

Team Giant Shimano
181 Marcel Kittel GER
182 Brian Bulgac NED
183 Tom Stamsnijder NED
184 Tom Veelers NED
185 Albert Timmer NED
186 Bert de Backer BEL

191 Nicolas Roche IRL
192 Manuele Boaro ITA
193 Rory Sutherland AUS
194 Christopher Juul Jensen DEN
195 Rasmus Guldhammer DEN
195 Nikolai Trusov RUS


Cycle Team Clothing at Merlin Cycles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *